Baby Steps to Blogging

Welcome fellow bloggers! This week I will be explaining how to I intend to use blogs in my classroom initially. The word initially is important here because I do believe weblogs show lots of promise, even within a mathematics classroom.

Before I articulate my intentions, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Thomas Baumgart and I teach one section of AP Calculus BC along with an assortment of geometry classes.  My geometry students next year will all be in 10th grade or higher changing the dynamics of a class immensely. Gone are the 7th, 8th, and 9th graders on the calculus track. My geometry classes will now consist of students who are older and will likely need much more support. My blog site will hopefully be a mechanism from which these students can acquire the aforementioned support.

Heeding the advice of Richardson (2010), my plan will be to start small and use my Weblog “as a place to post homework assignments and relevant class links” (p. 45). I my blog will be a fine place to post my syllabus, course objectives, student notes, and the previously noted homework assignments. This alone will prove useful for my oft-absent students who need the previous day’s materials.  This may be as far as I go with geometry next year as calculus is the class in which I intend on experimenting with blogging to a higher degree.

For my AP Calculus class, I will provide the same materials as with Geometry. However, I would also like students to also use the space to collaborate on problems and share resources.

I figure this is starting small enough to serve as a confidence builder for myself and should also enhance my students’ learning experiences to some degree. Please feel free to leave any suggestions or advice! Farewell!

Resource

Richardson, W. (2010). Blogs, wikis, podcasts, and other powerful web tools for classrooms (3rd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin.

8 thoughts on “Baby Steps to Blogging

  1. Thomas,

    I think that by using the blogs, you are going to create a great resource for your students! Are you going to require them to do any blogging at all or is it just going to be you posting things?
    Is blogging going to be part of their grade?
    Also, do all students have access to the blog (1:1 devices or at least internet at home?)
    If not, how do you see ALL of your students benefiting from the blog? If you want to make it a part of your class, is it possible that you take them to a computer lab once or twice a week?

    Maybe if you have them blog once a week, you can set aside time in class for them to do so.

    • Thanks for the reply, Kelli. As I teach math, I’m not sure how much actual blogging I intend students to do, but this could change if I come up with an impetus for them to do so. I do think the idea of students posting resources and creating a “course study guide” sounds interesting. If I took this route, I would likely have it tied to their grade.

      To answer some of your other questions, I would say the vast majority of my students have access to an internet ready device. Those that do not could use computers in the library or even stop into my classroom after school as I have a couple of computers available for them to use. Unfortunately, due to the rigidity of the math curriculum, there is no way I would be able to take them down to the lab as often as you suggest, but it is possible I could find a few days for them during the semester if I thought it necessary.

  2. Hi Thomas
    I like your ideas on using a blog to post relevant class information as well as a place for them to share and collaborate about the work that they have done. One idea that I have for you is student video blogs. With this you could have a group of students each week create a mini lesson on what they learned in class that week and then have them post the videos. This is a great way for students who might have been absent hear and see the lesson from a different perspective.

    • Fabulous idea, Krysten! I thought of doing this myself (i.e. recording some lessons and putting them on the blog for absent students) but this would work out extremely well if I could get the students to do the hard labor for me! In addition, students could clearly show what they have learned throughout the week as well. I will certainly consider your idea!

      Thank you,
      Tom

  3. I think this would be great especially for AP classes. I’m not sure how it word for AP calc but I know the AP Stat classes require a lot more writing than would be expected in a Math class. A blog would allow students a place to practice this mathematical writing.

    • Indeed, students must provide written responses on the AP Calc free response questions. This would be an excellent place for them to practice their writing, give/receive peer reviews, and receive feedback from me as well. Fantastic idea!

      Tom

  4. Would you be able to check understanding on skills taught on a periodic basis? Or post articles on math? I like your ideas for webogging. Baby steps!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *